Balance Yourself through Chakras

Reading Time: 4 minutes

There are many techniques and each of these has its own approach. In Jamuna’s case, the first she came across and experienced was Chakra . In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel”. These “wheels” can be thought of as vortexes that both receive and radiate energy. There are seven major energy centres in the human body. They run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. , physical health, and mental clarity affect how well each chakra can filter energy. This in turn dictates how pure the energy is that’s emitted from different . Each chakra has a associated with it. A is a sound, syllable, word, or group of words that is considered capable of “creating transformation.” A Multiple Sclerosis survivor, the columnist tells us how meditation helped her heal completely, in the weekly column, exclusively for Different Truths.

There is a metaphysical angle in all our lives. Metaphysics is the branch of philosophy that deals with the nature of existence, truth and knowledge. There are many meditation techniques and each of these has its own approach.

In my case, the first meditation I came across and experienced was . Till today, this is the meditation I relate most to and do every day. In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel”. These “wheels” can be thought of as vortexes that both receive and radiate energy. There are seven major energy centres in the human body. They run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Emotions, physical health, and mental clarity affect how well each chakra can filter energy. This in turn dictates how pure the energy is that’s emitted from different regions of the body.

Each chakra has a Bija Mantra associated with it. The mantra consists of the root man- “to think” (also in manas “mind”) and the suffix -tra, meaning “tools or instruments,” hence a literal would be “instrument of thought”. So, a Mantra is a sound, syllable, word, or group of words that is considered capable of “creating transformation.”

Bija means seed. “The Bija mantras are one-syllable seed sounds that, when said aloud, activate the energy of the chakras in order to purify and balance the mind and body. When we recite the bija mantras, we resonate with the energy of the associated chakra, helping us focus upon our own instinctive awareness of our body and its needs.

Each of the chakras have a bija mantra as given below and are associated with one colour.  These are given below

1.  LAM – Root Chakra, muladhara, colour red, survival and grounding

2. VAM – Sacral Chakra, swadisthana, colour orange, creativity and sexuality

3. RAM – Solar Plexus, manipura, colour yellow, power

4. YAM – Heart Chakra, anahata, colour green, love

5. HAM – Throat Chakra, vidusha, colour blue, communication

6. OOO – Third eye Chakra, ajna, colour indigo, intuition

7. MMM – Crown Chakra, sahashara, colour violet, spirituality

In my case, when I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, I spoke to my mentor and guru, the late Promila Gurtu, who was in Mumbai, while I was in Delhi. She listened to me and my diagnosis and then assured me that I can indeed become better. She told me to work on improving my relationships especially with my father and/or father figures, as this is what neurological like MS symbolise. She explained that a father figure epitomises one’s  with authority. Whether or not the fact was true, I could certainly relate to this due to certain childhood issues that I had had. Again, the solution is simple, forgive completely and resolve all issues. Whether or not one’s physical issues get resolved, this is bound to make us feel better.

Now, I have healed completely and do believe this is because I worked on myself – in all areas, that of the Body, Mind and Spirit.

As far as the Spirit is concerned, having benefitted a lot from Chakra meditation, I personally recommend a little meditation and the chanting of the Bija Mantras to everyone, as a regular routine, whether or not one has a health challenge.

©Jamuna Rangachari

Photos from the Internet.

#Body #Mind #Spirit #ChakraMeditation #BijaMantras #Relationship #Sankrit #MultipleSclerosis #Meditation #CombattingFear #DifferentTruths

Jamuna Rangachari

Jamuna Rangachari

Jamuna Rangachari is a software professional who manages the websites of Life Positive magazine. She is also a writer and author. She has authored three books for children, two of which were published by Rupa and one by Life Positive. She has also compiled and interpreted Teaching Stories-I and II for Life Positive and has authored Dancing with Life: Living with Multiple Sclerosis published by HayHouse in 2015.
Jamuna Rangachari

Latest posts by Jamuna Rangachari (see all)